Bryce's Blog

my blog

By

The Big Game

This was it, one of the most favorited games of the year, the NFC championship. Today one winner would be crowned and move to the the Superbowl. My favorite team (The 49ers) are playing the Seattle Seahawks. This is the 3rd year in a row that the 49ers have made it to the NFC championship, but this championship is one that I will always remember.

I watch the game in the comfort of my home withe my family and one friend of mine. I watch the post game show knowing that I wouldn’t like what they have to say because the 49ers are the underdog. I see that the chance of the 49ers winning is about 30 percent , but I have no doubt about this game.

3,2,1, I count down until kickoff and… here we go. The game starts great as the 49ers rack up a field goal on their first drive. Seattle then takes the ball into their hands just to kick it back after the first few plays. This pattern was followed for two more drives with the score hanging at nine to zero. It was a great half for the 49ers, but everything was about to change.

As I watched the half time show the more I worried about the rest of this game. The analyzers were talking about how the Seattle Seahawks are going to bounce back into this game, and as they guessed the first drive of the Seahawks was a touchdown. The touchdown belonged to Marshawn Lynch and it was a great run. The 49ers then throw a devastating interception to Seattle. This interception ended in a touchdown pass from Russell Wilson.

“This is it” I say “the final drive”. The 49ers grab a small return to the 25 yard line. Then a incomplete pass to Anquan Boldin. Then with 1:50 on the clock a quarterback scramble from Colin Kaepernick shaking tackles and a huge gain of 58 yards. The 49ers then spike the ball to stop the clock. 2nd down on the 17 yard line, and since the 49ers are down by 5 a field goal would not be helpful here. The clock reads 49 seconds, the first play is a pass toward the sideline but is dropped. Second play is a few yard screen pass and a timeout is called. This next play is the last one do or die. Colin Kaepernick dropped back into the pocket and launches a pass toward the end zone I watch the beautiful pass into the end zone. The ball is tipped by a defender and… Interception the game is over I hold my head down in despair to see my favorite team lose in such a close game. As I was about to turn off the tv something lifted my spirits. The cornerback that tipped the ball into the air is now blabbing his mouth about how good he was… it was hilarious.

I will always remember this game not because of the final score or the 49ers great season, but I will always remember this game because of that interview of Seattle’s cornerback.

One Response to The Big Game

  1. Mrs. Kriese says:

    What a great job narrating your experience, Bryce! I especially like what you did with the ellipsis punctuation mark…really builds up a moment!

    That Richard Sherman interview was something, wasn’t it? I’ll bet he’ll be more in control today for the big game :- )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar